Take a breath and feel better; you have now taken your first step towards protecting yourself. The Law Offices of W.G. Koreman has been successfully defending residents in South Florida for over 30 years. We’re experienced drug crime defense lawyers that truly understand the South Florida courts. Whether you’re dealing with a serious drug offense or a smaller possession issue, Bill Koreman’s Ft. Lauderdale drug crime defense attorneys are committed to providing you the best possible defense. As such, we offer our clients a Guarantee of Excellence.
If accused of a drug crime in South Florida, you should immediately speak with a drug defense lawyer. A South Florida drug defense attorney, such as Bill Koreman, can possibly reduce/remove fines, reduce/remove jail time and even have you found not guilty of the drug crime. Complete our free consultation form and one of our friendly staff will contact you shortly about your situation.
Or call us directly at (954) 483-4989 and discuss your situation with one of our attorneys for free. One of our experienced South Florida drug defense lawyers are happy to assist you.
What is Drug Defense in South Florida?
In reference to our services, drug defense are the activities employed by an attorney to defend a client charged with a crime related to drugs. Drug charges cover a broad spectrum of offenses. From minor misdemeanors such as possession of a small amount of a drug to major felonies like the distribution of drugs. The penalties and punishments for being convicted of a Drug crime in South Florida can include fines, jail and probation. Being convicted of a drug crime can have far reaching effects on a person’s life such as making searching for employement more difficult.
Potential Consequences of a Drug Crime Conviction in South Florida
To get a better understading of the severity of the consequences we have listed a summary below (Dade, Broward and Palm Beach Counties.). This inlcudes potential prison sentences and fines for drug related convictions.
Disclaimer: This summary was prepared by the Florida Senate and should be used as a reference only. Interested parties should refer to the full text of the law before drawing legal conclusions.
b. For a life felony committed on or after July 1, 2008, which is a person’s second or subsequent violation of s. 800.04(5)(b), by a term of imprisonment for life.
(b) For a felony of the first degree, by a term of imprisonment not exceeding 30 years or, when specifically provided by statute, by imprisonment for a term of years not exceeding life imprisonment.
(c) For a felony of the second degree, by a term of imprisonment not exceeding 15 years.
(d) For a felony of the third degree, by a term of imprisonment not exceeding 5 years.
(4) A person who has been convicted of a designated misdemeanor may be sentenced as follows:
(a) For a misdemeanor of the first degree, by a definite term of imprisonment not exceeding 1 year;
(b) For a misdemeanor of the second degree, by a definite term of imprisonment not exceeding 60 days.
3. If the state attorney determines that a defendant is a prison releasee reoffender as defined in subparagraph 1., the state attorney may seek to have the court sentence the defendant as a prison releasee reoffender. Upon proof from the state attorney that establishes by a preponderance of the evidence that a defendant is a prison releasee reoffender as defined in this section, such defendant is not eligible for sentencing under the sentencing guidelines and must be sentenced as follows:
a. For a felony punishable by life, by a term of imprisonment for life;
b. For a felony of the first degree, by a term of imprisonment of 30 years;
c. For a felony of the second degree, by a term of imprisonment of 15 years; and
d. For a felony of the third degree, by a term of imprisonment of 5 years.
(1) A person who has been convicted of an offense other than a capital felony may be sentenced to pay a fine in addition to any punishment described in s. 775.082; when specifically authorized by statute, he or she may be sentenced to pay a fine in lieu of any punishment described in s. 775.082. A person who has been convicted of a noncriminal violation may be sentenced to pay a fine. Fines for designated crimes and for noncriminal violations shall not exceed:
(a) $15,000, when the conviction is of a life felony.
(b) $10,000, when the conviction is of a felony of the first or second degree.
(c) $5,000, when the conviction is of a felony of the third degree.
(d) $1,000, when the conviction is of a misdemeanor of the first degree.
(e) $500, when the conviction is of a misdemeanor of the second degree or a noncriminal violation.
(f) Any higher amount equal to double the pecuniary gain derived from the offense by the offender or double the pecuniary loss suffered by the victim.
(g) Any higher amount specifically authorized by statute.
Complete our free consultation form and one of our friendly staff will contact you shortly about your situation.
Or call us directly at (954) 483-4989 and discuss your situation with one of our attorneys for free. We have a county specific experienced lawyer that can speak with you.
- Drug Defense Attorney in Dade County
- Drug DefenseAttorney in Broward County
- Drug DefenseAttorney in Palm Beach County
Our offices in Hollywood and Ft. Lauderdale service Aventura, Boca Raton, Bal Harbour, Brickell, Cooper City, Coconut Grove, Coral Gables, Coral Springs, Cutler Bay, Dania, Davie, Doral, , Hallandale, Hialeah, Homestead, Kendall, Key Biscayne, Miami, Miami Beach, Miami Lakes, Miami Shores, Miramar, North Miami, Palmetto Bay, Pembroke Pines, Pinecrest, Sunny Isles, South Miami, West Palm Beach, South Florida, Palm Beach County, Broward County and Miami Dade County.